Encyclopaedia - Volume 5: The Natural World

This is a serious poetry forum not a "love-in". Post here for more detailed, constructive criticism.
Basnik
Prolific Poster
Prolific Poster

Encyclopaedia - Volume 5: The Natural World

Post by Basnik » Thu Sep 17, 2015 8:44 pm

Each week mum would put a bit by -
for life assurance, the Christmas Club
and, of course, the encyclopaedias:
ten volumes bound in faux red leather.

It was the start of it all, an education.
I liked the solar system,
myths and legends, and animals,
especially the insects.

There were clear acetate sheets
that took you further, as you turned,
into the organs of a giant bee,
until you reached its three-part essence.

Such brimming colours and the words -
some I knew: antennae, sting,
but others were new: thorax, glossa,
its ganglia of nerves for a brain.

Perhaps I studied too long:
too impressed with knowing labels.
Intricate knowledge, precise definitions,
they give you a sense of mastery

but not empathy. I could anatomise
the hive, draw figure eight dances;
my daughter knows through wiggling,
thanks them one-by-one for the honey.
Last edited by Basnik on Sun Sep 20, 2015 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
bez prace, nejsou kolaci - without work, there are no cakes (Czech proverb)

ray miller
Perspicacious Poster
Perspicacious Poster

Re: Encyclopaedia - Volume 5: The Natural World

Post by ray miller » Fri Sep 18, 2015 10:14 am

Lovely poem, Rich. The end is worth the wait. The only thing I'd point out is this

Perhaps I stopped too soon .....

Given what follows the narrator could have supposed, with equal, if not more justification, that perhaps he carried on too long.
I'm out of faith and in my cups
I contemplate such bitter stuff.

David

Post by David » Fri Sep 18, 2015 10:21 am

Hi Rich, it is a lovely poem. Somehow I want a "the" in front of Christmas Club, and S2 seems a little bland. I know it's just a setting-up verse, but I'd like a bit more detail.